NPP primaries: List of all the incumbent MPs kicked out

0 0
Read Time:1 Minute, 55 Second

The generally peaceful New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary primaries held on Saturday, June 20, 2020, has produced some surprising results in the build-up to the December general elections.

Results certified by the Electoral Commission (EC) reveal that at least nine top-ranking legislators of the governing party have been kicked out.

While some have hailed the ousting of the politically deep-rooted incumbents as an indication of the governing party’s democratic credentials, others say it is bad for the party’s parliamentary caucus.

Some political pundits believe the calbre of persons the Majority side of Parliament has lost in Saturday’s primaries will affect its vibrancy in the next Parliament.

For instance, the Chairman of Parliament’s Finance Committee, Dr Mark Assibey-Yeboah lost his seat to a new entrant, Michael Okyere Baafi.

Mr Assibey-Yeboah has been a staunch defender of government’s economic policies in the media and on the floor of Parliament.

With the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) getting stronger in its campaign to win back power on December 7, 2020, the outcome of Saturday’s primaries is sure to prove interesting for the governing party.

Below is the full regional breakdown of all the incumbent MPs who lost their seats.

Greater Accra

Nana Akua Owusu Afriyieh – Ablekuma North

Vincent Sowah Odotei – La Dadekotopon

Ahmed Arthur – Okaikwei South

Kofi Brako -Tema Central

Alhaji Habib Saad – Bortianor Ngleshie Amanfro


Daniel Okyem Aboagye – Bantama

Kwabena Owusu Aduomi – Ejisu

Collins Owusu Amankwah – Manhyia North

Ben Abdallah Banda – Offinso South

Kennedy Kankam – Nhyiaeso

Kwame Asafu-Adjei – Nsuta/Kwamang/Beposo


Anthony Effah – Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa

Abraham Odoom – Twifo Atti Morkwa


Joe Mensah – Kwesimintsim

Ato Panford – Shama

Alex Agyekum – Mpohor

Patrick Bogyako Kwame Saime – Amenfi East

Check This Out:  #NPP2020: Dep. Chief of Staff Asenso-Boakye beats Okyem Aboagye


Mark Assibey-Yeboah – New Juaben South

William Agyapong Qauitoo – Akim Oda

Seth Kwame Acheampong – Mpraeso

Ama Sey – Akwatia

Opare Ansah – Suhum

Kwabena Ohemeng – Tinyase Kade

Seth Akyeampong – Mpraeso

Robert Kwasi Amoah – Achiase


Alhaji Wahab Wumbei – Tolon

Charles Bintin – Saboba


Dr. Kwabena Twum Nuamah – Berekum East

Kwasi Sabi – Dormaa East


Dr. Sagre Bambangi – Walewale

Upper East

Joseph Kofi Adda – Navrongo Central

Upper West

Godfred Bayong Tangu – Wa East

Patrick Adama – Sissala West

Ridwan Abass – Sissala East



About Post Author

Ellis Ferdinand

Ellis Ferdinand is the Founder of Education Ghana Media Network ,a parent Company of ,an Online Education News Blog and Education Television, an Online Digital Television Channel. Ellis Ferdinand is a Graduate of Accra College of Education and the University of Cape Coast respectively, where he obtained a Diploma In Basic Education and a Bachelor of Education in Accounting. Awards Ellis Ferdinand won Blogger of the Year at the 2018 National Students’ Awards and was also adjudged 14th Best Ghanain Blogger in 2018 among Top 50 Ghanaian Bloggers of 2018. He introduced the Concept of Education Blogging in Ghana in 2014 with his famous blog His Blog won Best Media Promoting Education in 2017, 2018 and 2019 respectively, an Award organized by Neogenics Education Consult. In 2019, He was adjudged the Most Promising West African Blogger of the Year in Nigeria.
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.